Ford Hall Forum Honors FIRE with 2010 First Amendment Award

March 18, 2010

FIRE has been awarded the Ford Hall Forum’s Louis P. and Evelyn Smith First Amendment Award, an honor bestowed upon "individuals or organizations that demonstrate extraordinary commitment to promoting and facilitating the thoughtful exercise of our right to freedom of expression." Greg Lukianoff, President of FIRE; Harvey Silverglate, civil liberties lawyer and FIRE Co-founder; and Steven Pinker, bestselling author and FIRE Board of Advisors member, joined moderator Judge Nancy Gertner of the U.S. District Court of Massachusetts to discuss FIRE’s work and what freedom of speech means today. Previous First Amendment Award recipients include journalist Gwen Ifill, civil rights activist Rosa Parks, and CNN founder Ted Turner.