President Roosevelt Pardons Those Convicted Under the Espionage and Sedition Acts

Between 1918 and 1920, more than two thousand people were convicted of sedition and other violations of the Espionage Act. While hundreds were pardoned by Presidents Warren Harding and Calvin Coolidge during the 1920s, President Franklin D. Roosevelt pardons every remaining person convicted under the federal sedition law.

To view more information on the image featured on this post, view the Library of Congress listing for this item.