

Virginia Tech Principles of Community



Virginia Tech is a public land-grant university, committed to teaching and learning, research, and outreach to the Commonwealth of Virginia, the nation, and the world community. Learning from the experiences that shape Virginia Tech as an institution, we acknowledge those aspects of our legacy that reflected bias and exclusion. Therefore, we adopt and practice the following principles as fundamental to our on-going efforts to increase access and inclusion and to create a community that nurtures learning and growth for all of its members:

We affirm the inherent dignity and value of every person and strive to maintain a climate for work and learning based on mutual respect and understanding.

We affirm the right of each person to express thoughts and opinions freely. We encourage open expression within a climate of civility, sensitivity, and mutual respect.

We affirm the value of human diversity because it enriches our lives and the University. We acknowledge and respect our differences while affirming our common humanity.

We reject all forms of prejudice and discrimination, including those based on age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, and veteran status. We take individual and collective responsibility for helping to eliminate bias and discrimination and for increasing our own understanding of these issues through education, training, and interaction with others.

We pledge our collective commitment to these principles in the spirit of the Virginia Tech motto of Ut Prosim (That I May Serve).

individuals/organizations:

Deborah Petrine, rector, Board of Visitors Timothy Sands, president, Virginia Tech Bernice Hausman, president, Faculty Senate Dan Cook, president, Staff Senate Elizabeth Lazor, president, Student Government Association Greg Purdy, presidents, Graduate Student Assembly Matt Winston Jr., president, Virginia Tech Alumni Association Aaron Bond, chair, Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity

March 14, 2005

The "Virginia Tech Principles of Community" were <u>first endorsed</u> by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors on March 14, 2005, by the following eight individuals/organizations:

Ben J. Davenport Jr., rector, Board of Visitors Charles W. Steger, president, Virginia Tech W. Samuel Easterling, president, Faculty Senate Sue Ellen Crocker, president, Staff Senate, Sumeet Bagai, president, Student Government Association, Myrna C. Callison and Yvette Quintela, co-presidents, Graduate Student Assembly Raymond V. Plaza, chair, Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity Kimble Reynolds, Virginia Tech Alumni Association

Contact Us

Office for Inclusion and Diversity (0216) 336 Burruss Hall, Virginia Tech 800 Drillfield Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 Phone <u>540-231-7500</u>

Email: <u>inclusivevt@vt.edu</u>

Give to InclusiveVT

 $\ \odot$ 2022 Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. All rights reserved.









