UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES

BERKELEY • DAVIS • IRVINE • LOS ANGELES • MERCED • RIVERSIDE • SAN DIEGO • SAN FRANCISCO



SANTA BARBARA • SANTA CRUZ

David B. Teplow, Ph.D. Professor of Neurology

DEPARTMENT OF NEUROLOGY
DAVID GEFFEN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT UCLA
NEUROSCIENCE RESEARCH BUILDING
635 CHARLES E. YOUNG DRIVE SOUTH (ROOM 445)
LOS ANGELES, CA 90095-7334
(310) 206-2030 (Voice)
(310) 206-1700 (Fax)
dteplow@ucla.edu (E-Mail)

June 4, 2012

James E. Enstrom, Ph.D., M.P.H. UCLA School of Public Health

Dear Jim:

The Senate Committee on Academic Freedom thanks you for updating it on your situation at UCLA.

In the interim, the committee has sent a letter to Chancellor Block asking that he respond to an earlier letter that requested more detailed information on the University's position with respect to your situation. To this date, we have not received a response from Chancellor Block.

The Committee is sensitive to your concerns, but it is not within the committee's purview to organize academic debates.

As you know best, it appears that the administration has "dug in its heels" with respect to your termination. It is the committee's opinion that the legal mesures you now are undertaking may be the most appropriate course of action.

However, the Committee asks to be kept informed of your situation so that should future events make it appropriate, the committee can involve itself in the matter.

David B. Teplow, Ph.D.

David B. Leplon

Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Freedom

Professor of Neurology

Interim Director, Mary S. Easton Center for Alzheimer's Disease Research at UCLA

Director, Biopolymer Laboratory

On behalf of the members of the Committee:

Shiffrin, Seana (Philosophy/Law)

Jacoby, Russell (History)
Looby, Christopher (English)
Dunkel Schetter, Christine (Psychology)
Iacoboni, Marco (Psychiatry)
Shu, Suzanne (Management)
Hendlin, Yogi (Graduate Student Representative)
Akuezue, Micah (Graduate Student Representative)
Medina, Ian (Undergraduate Student Representative)
Ford, Austin (Undergraduate Student Representative)
Leary, John (Academic Senate Staff Contact)

Cc:

Professor Carole Goldberg, Vice-Chancellor for Academic Personnel Professor Andy Leuchter, Chairman, Academic Senate