Table of Contents

Resolution from Appalachian State Faculty Senate

Petition: Tenured Faculty Call for Accountability for Administrative Failures

Whereas academic freedom is vital to the mission of the university and required by our accreditation body (Faculty Handbook 3.2, 3.3, 3.7; SACS Principles of Accreditation 3.7.4), and

Whereas due process rights are enshrined in the law as well as university policy (Faculty Handbook 4.10.2, 7.4.2) and

Whereas faculty governance expressed through meaningful participation in university decision-making is essential to the proper functioning of an excellent university and required by our accreditation institution (Faculty Handbook 3.4, 5.3, 6.1; SACS Principles of Accreditation 3.4.10, 3.7.5); and

Whereas there has been a pattern of disregard for academic freedom by the members of the Appalachian State University administration named below, (a) in the case of actions pertaining to specific individual faculty members, and (b) forcing strict adherence to syllabi, forbidding criticism of the administration in the classroom and the expression of personal opinions, and failing to support instructors under fire from unfair allegations; and

Whereas the due process rights of faculty members have been ignored by these same administrators, (a) in the case of actions pertaining to specific individual faculty members, and (b) the adoption of a commercial service (EthicsPoint) which establishes procedures contrary to the Faculty Handbook; and

Whereas faculty governance has been denied by these same administrators in multiple instances regarding (a) the content and structure of the curriculum, including the General Education curriculum, and (b) the use of Faculty Handbook designated faculty-led structures for the resolution of grievances and review of due process violations; and

Whereas these same administrators have been nonresponsive to and dismissive of questions and concerns of faculty members concerning these actions, all of which constitutes a dereliction of duty on the part of administration members tasked with upholding the Faculty Handbook,

Therefore, be it now resolved that we the undersigned — all tenured faculty at Appalachian State University — do hereby call for a vote of no confidence by the Faculty Senate in Associate Provost Dr. Tony Carey and Provost Dr. Lori Gonzalez.

If you support this petition, talk to your colleagues, print and sign below (with printed name, position, department, college and signature) and return to:

Chair, ASU Faculty Senate, Faculty Senate Office, ASU Campus